III School on Magnetism (Milano 2016)

The aim of the National School on Magnetism in 2016, promoted by the Italian Magnetism Association (AIMagn) and organized at Università degli Studi di Milano, was to provide the general basis of magnetism, an introduction to more specialized topics and insights into the applications of magnetic materials. The school was addressed to graduate and PhD students as well as post-doc and young researchers, both italians and foreigners.

The school was directed by Alessandro Lascialfari (Università degli studi di Milano) and Dino Fiorani (AIMagn – ISM/CNR), in collaboration with the Local Organizing Committee (composed by Alessandro Lascialfari, Giorgio Rossi, Francesco Orsini, Paolo Arosio and Martina Basini, all members of the Università degli Studi di Milano).

The one week school was organized in a tight schedule of lectures led by recognized experts of magnetism. The school covered the following topics:

  • Basic Aspects of Magnetism (Static and Dynamical properties; Theoretical models);
  • Nanomagnetism (Nanoparticles; Films, Surfaces and Interfaces);
  • Molecular Magnetism; Magnonics;
  • Magnetoplasmonics;
  • Spintronics;
  • Functional magnetic materials;
  • Main Experimental techniques and large scale facilities;
  • Applications (Sensors and devices; Energy; Information storage; Biomedicine).

A poster session dedicated to the school participants work was carried out.

The eminent experts involved were:

  • Franca Albertini – IMEM/CNR
  • Paolo Allia – Politecnico di Torino
  • Riccardo Bertacco – Politecnico di Milano
  • Alberto Brambilla – Politecnico di Milano
  • Roberto Caciuffo – EC/JRC – Institute for Transuranium Elements (Karlsruhe – Germany)
  • Matteo Cantoni – Politecnico di Milano
  • Alessandra Continenza- Università degli studi dell’Aquila
  • Cesar de Julian Fernandez – IMEM/CNR
  • Roberto De Renzi – Università degli studi di Parma
  • Loris Giovannini – Università di Ferrara
  • Marco Madami – IOM/CNR
  • Vincenzo Iannotti – Università di Napoli “Federico II”
  • Lorenzo Mattera – Universit degli studi di Genova
  • Davide Peddis – ISM/CNR
  • Silvia Picozzi – CNR/SPIN
  • Giorgio Rossi – Università degli studi di Milano
  • Claudio Sangregorio – CNR/ICCOM
  • Roberta Sessoli – Università degli studi di Firenze
  • Paola Tiberto – INRIM
  • Gaspare Varvaro – ISM/CNR

The success of the school was certified by the large number of participants (51) and by the feedback received during and after the school both from the students and the speakers.

Rate this post